Pedagogies of Passing from Reception to Education

The PASSAGE project aims to develop innovative and urgently needed solutions to ensure that newly-arrived children of third-country national background receive sufficient support in entering school life.

The aims of the project

PASSAGE seeks to foster inclusive learning and quality education for newly-arrived students from the early stages of the integration process by adopting a two-fold approach that focuses on:

providing teachers with the much-needed tools and resources that will empower them to deal more effectively with systematic pedagogical challenges, an

designing and promoting a “role-model” programme through which current or former students of local schools can support the successful integration of newly-arrived students.


Main activities and outputs

Mapping of current needs and practices

through desk and primary research in order to analyse the existing situation and identify key challenges that school systems face in the educational integration of newly arrived children of third-country national background.

Capacity building and training

of teachers, students, and stakeholders through face to face and online courses on effective methodologies, teaching techniques, activities and tools that aim at creating a more inclusive learning environment.

Design of educative resources and toolkit

for school educators on how to create and sustain culturally sensitive and inclusive school systems that foster educational integration.

Development of policy recommendations

for policy and decision makers at all levels, seeking to establish a set of minimum requirements for the effective transition of newly arrived children from reception to education.

Awareness raising and dissemination

of the project’s approach and methodology to a wide range of key actors and stakeholders in an effort to strengthen inclusiveness in educational approaches and promote culturally diverse school systems.

The two-year project, running from January 2021 to January 2023, is a common effort of  7 partner organisations, representing 6 EU countries, namely Cyprus, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Portugal, and Slovenia.